My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Writing 101 : Day Ten – Aappam Memories



Today’s Prompt: Tell us something about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Its asking about childhood favorite meal. But this is not only my childhood favorite meal, my all time favorite. I love Aappam very much. Even when I am writing this post, I am getting kothi ( longing ) for it.  You explore the food facts of Appam here.

Aappam is a type of pancake made with fermented rice batter and coconut milk. It is a common food in the South Indian states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Aappam is also popular in Tamil Nadu and Sri Lanka. It is eaten most frequently for breakfast or dinner. It can be served with coconut milk and sugar as sweet or with Kadalai Curry as spicy. I love both versions.

One day when I was at the age of sweet sixteen, my mother made Aappam for breakfast. It was made after some gap. So I was in a eager to taste it. I was served Aappam with coconut milk. I was eating very fast as though somebody could pull it from me. Suddenly I saw the coconut milk was getting red. I don’t know why. I was searching for the reason. After some minutes only, I noticed that my fingers were bleeding. The redness was from my blood oozing out from my cut fingers. Then only I realised that I have bitten my fingers in a hurry to eat Aappam, my favorite. I was not even feeling the pain. Then, What???

After washing my hands, I continued with my Aappam. I had three with coconut milk and two with kadalai curry. Thats the end of my all time favorite meal story.

Ok, Bye. Catch you later …. I am going to make batter for tomorrow’s Sunday Special Breakfast. What breakfast ??? You can now guess it ….


Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

8 thoughts on “Writing 101 : Day Ten – Aappam Memories

  1. I love those! Used to grow up with them and have them for breakfast!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is funny that you didn’t even know you had bitten your fingers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Untold Power Of Traveling | My Sweet Nothings

  4. It waz funny! I too love appam. Tasted it when i stayed in chennai, never prepared it though

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You actually bit your fingers and didn’t realise you did? Shows how much you love Aappams!:)) Such a cute post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

