My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Weekly Photo Challenge : Symbol


In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Symbol“.

Kolam (Tamil-கோலம்) is a form of drawing that is drawn by using rice flour/chalk/chalk powder/white rock powder often using naturally/synthetically colored powders in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh,Kerala and some parts of Goa, Maharashtra, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and a few other Asian countries. A Kolam is a geometrical line drawing composed of curved loops, drawn around a grid pattern of dots. In South India, it is widely practised by female Hindu family members in front of their houses. 

Kolam is considered as symbol of Welcoming, Love, Tradition, Culture, Art, Creativity, Harmony and much more….

Few kolams of my amma to represent various symbols of Life …













Courtesy :

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Symbol

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog , these pics remind me of my days in Chennai🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

