My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

This MOM’s Life


Me and my two Punjabi munchkins!

Today I am so happy to share mommy’s experience of my fabulous friend  Ritu Bhathalare, lovingly known as Ritu of But I Smile Anyway…. She has an amazing blog. And I love her Spidey’s Serene Sunday  very much.  She has more wonderful such posts like FamilySonu Singh, Thoughts, Opinions & Memories. My Writing, challenges, Humor & Recipes. She is a mother of 2 children, a son aged 10 and a daughter aged 7, and 1 year old Cat Sonu Singh. Her humor is hilarious. One can not help it. On reading her voice, you will accept this. Thanks dear Ritu for being so friendly to share your thoughts for me.

Now is time for A Mother’s Words…And its Ritu’s Words …..
Profession/Qualification: Teacher – B Ed (Hons), Wife – Marriage Certificate, Mother – Stretch marks and two happy little monkeys!
My Interests: Reading, spending time with family, writing, cooking, my cat!
Sonu Singh

Sonu Singh

 Parenting lessons:
1) Do not spoil your children with presents, your presence is much more crucial.
2) Nobody’s perfect, don’t try too hard to be a textbook parent… they aren’t real. We all make mistakes, but learn from them, and become a better parent through your experiences.
3) You children are never to big for a hug!
4) Try your hardest to be positive, even in negative situations. Word your reprimands in a way that a child won’t spend their life scared of certain things, or believing they are bad, or stupid, but use explanations that will make them realize what is right and wrong, and to allow them to also learn from mistakes. This is actually very hard, and there are days I feel I have failed but I do try to rectify situations.

Now comes the main show :

1. What three words describe you as a mother?
Loving, Protective, Real
2. What’s the parenting rule you never break?
There is no such thing as too many hugs!
3. And one rule you do break? Sometimes, if they whine enough.. I give in… Hey I’m human!
4. How do you spend time off for yourself?
Read, have a soak in the bath, go out and get my nails done…
5. What’s the best part of your day?
Different times are special for many reasons. The early morning for the peace I get without anyone around, to prepare me for the day, the hugs and smiles when my kids wake up, on a school day, coming home, and being able to switch off teacher mode and relax with my family, bedtime with the kids, as I love to read them stories, and then that time when they have gone to bed, and I can again relax… (or do the ironing… !)
6. What’s your favorite guilty pleasure?
Sneaking my favorite chocolate bar upstairs, when there are no kids around to ask for some!
7. What five things can always be found in your refrigerator?
Bread, milk, cheese, ham, yogurt
8. What words describe you as a wife and a mom?
Loving, Loyal, Silly, Strict, Kind, Fun, Protective
9. Do you have a family ritual that you love?
We try to have Cinema Sunday most weeks, which is not at the cinema, but at home, we choose a film to watch together, and then I pop the corn, and we settle down. It hasn’t happened as much recently, but we love it when we can do it… also, the Sunday morning all snuggling in mummy and daddy’s bed ritual… can’t beat it!
10. What are 3 best things you love to teach your child?
a) To appreciate family, friends and books.
b) Patience, though that is an upwards struggle at the moment.
c) Not to be judgmental, and to read every situation in life with an open mind. I would hate for my children to grow up with bigoted views…

Thanks again for your valuable time, Ritu …🙂




Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

15 thoughts on “This MOM’s Life

  1. Thank you so much for featuring me Vasantha! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I especially love the introduction!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on But I Smile Anyway… and commented:
    I have been featured!
    Pop on over to My Sweet Nothings to read my interview with Vasantha, about motherhood! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thar was wonderful. Some very good advice from a wonderful mum🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great interview Vacantha. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vasantha damn auto correct. Sorry☺

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, that is Ritu!!! I so enjoyed the interview. You are a mom with all your heart!❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sonu Singh for a cat’s name is pretty hilarious Ritu. And what a fun way to introduce yourself – Married – marriage certificate and kids – stretch marks. I am still reeling with laughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for the tips..Will keep these in mind for the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ah, the chocolate bar… The good ones, the ones you hide, right, Ritu😉 Loved reading this. She is such a positive person and her blog sparkles…


  11. Interesting! good to know Ritu through your blog Vasantha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

