My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

7 Habits Of Highly Effective Readers


Improve your reading skills by following these habits:

  • Depth Reading
  • Interested Reading
  • Note Taking
  • Understand 
  • Share Reading
  • Highlight Reading
  • Travel Reading

Depth Reading : Always try to read deeply. Put your heart and mind in reading. At the start, you can sit in a silent room and then read. Make reading a daily practice.

Interested Reading : Reading is Yoga. You may forget the world while reading. It gives you the ecstasy. Choose books and articles that interest you much. It may be parenting, cinema,sports,motivational or anything. Start collecting materials of your interests. Display them in your living room.

Note Taking : While reading, be slow. Keep paper and pen with you. Make notes of some important points, your views.

Understand : Pause, try to understand what you read. Correlate them with your life. Enjoy the word power of the author. Imagine the situation. Analyse the problems. Think for solutions.

Share Reading : Discuss about your reading in your friends circle. Form a Reading Club. Share books. Arrange book fairs. Visit library.

Highlight Reading : Use fluorescent highlighters to note some catchy points. This may help you in quick review. Mark with diagrams, figures, note etc.,

Travel Reading : Always keep books in your bag. While waiting, spend the time in reading. Buy traditional books. Write travel diaries and stories of yours.





Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

13 thoughts on “7 Habits Of Highly Effective Readers

  1. Those are very good points, Vasantha!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Vasantha, I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. If you would like to participate here is the post:😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Best Of My Sweet Nothings Week 1 | My Sweet Nothings

  4. Pingback: How To Make Your Kids Enjoy Reading | My Sweet Nothings

  5. Wow! Really nice ideas! Thanks for sharing : ) #LMMLinkup

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are great ideas! I particularly appreciate sharing my reading in my own life. What I read seems so disconnected unless I talk with other people about it! Thanks so much for linking up to LMM Link-up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

