My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

This Mom’s Life – Special Christmas Day 2015 Post



After a long gap about four months, the guest post is back now.  I dedicate today’s post This Mom’s Life as a Special Christmas Day 2015 post. This guest post is from my lovely, adorable friend Lisa Amaya of  Life of an El Paso Woman.

Amaya’s a 30 some year old mom to her 10-year-old son, Jacob. Throughout most of her son’s life, She have been a single parent. Luckily,she have had a strong support system. When her son was younger, her grandparents helped her to take care of him while she was at work. Her son enjoys spending time with them on weekends. She work in media sales for a daily newspaper in El Paso, Texas. Prior to sales, she was a reporter and freelance writer for various newspapers and magazines in Texas and New Mexico. She’s a 2004 New Mexico State University graduate. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in journalism.   She have been writing stories and poetry since she was 6.

She’s known personality of blogging world. No wonder she has 1, 169 followers for her blog. She writes on diversified topics. Her blog covers almost everything under the roof of sky. Join with the enthusiastic follower community of Life of an El Paso Woman, if you are not. Sure you would enjoy.

I am pleased to have Bold Amaya as our guest on this special day. More truthful words flow from her heart. Now I hand over the show to Bold Amaya :

” First of all, thank you so much for featuring me in your blog. I’m truly honored for this great opportunity. “

– Lisa Amaya

1.       What three words describe you as a mother?

Caring, strict, strong. 

2.       What’s the parenting rule you never break?

My son is expected to do well in school. If he doesn’t, he knows there’s going to be consequences. Even though he has some learning disabilities, he continues to do well every year. I’m proud of his awards and accomplishments from school. I’m also very proud of him when his teachers tell me he’s well-behaved and respectful towards them and other students. He can become moody at home. I have to get upset at him when he starts acting up at home. Kids are kids but as a parent, I have to do my job. I can’t stay quiet all the time! 

3.       And one rule you do break?

I’ve allowed him to stay up 30 minutes past his bedtime to finish watching a movie or football game. He whines about it and I fall for it every time! I tell him he still has to wake up at 6:45 a.m. for school and he agrees to it. 

4.       How do you spend time off for yourself?

I blog, go shopping, buy myself a dessert or Starbucks, watch a movie or football game and do chores around the house. Believe it or not, cleaning the house helps me clear my mind sometimes.

5.       What’s the best part of your day?

I enjoy the evenings when I get home from work. I ask my son and boyfriend how their day went. I help my son with his homework. If I’m not too tired, I’ll try a new recipe. If I’m too tired, I’ll cook something easy. After my son goes to bed, I sometimes blog. If I don’t get to it in the evening, I blog before he wakes up or on the weekends.

6.       What’s your favorite guilty pleasure?

I’ve felt guilty when I buy something my son likes eating, like an ice cream or pizza from his favorite restaurant. 

7.       What five things can always be found in your refrigerator?

Juice, cheese, fruit/veggies (grapes, lettuce, tomato) hot sauce, bottled water, lots of frozen meat, meals.

8.       What words describe you as a wife and a mom?

Loving, nice, loyal, happy, extremely moody some days after work.

9.       Do you have a family ritual that you love?

Me and my son enjoy going to the movies or watching a movie or football game at home. We sometimes go to library parties and events. Even though he always wants me to buy him stuff when we go to the grocery store, I always enjoy his company. We haven’t done it in a while but we used to take a drive around the city. We’d listen to music and talk about life. Afterwards, we’d stop to get dinner or a dessert somewhere. 

10.   What are 3 best things you love to teach your kids?

Be nice and polite to others, do the best you can in life and don’t be a quitter. 

I thank you, Amaya for your encouraging and loving answers. Wish You, Jacob and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2016.

Merry Christmas to All !!!🙂🙂🙂

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

10 thoughts on “This Mom’s Life – Special Christmas Day 2015 Post

  1. Thank you much for the interview! Merry Christmas to you and your family, Vasantha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Life of an El Paso Woman and commented:
    A thank you goes out to Vasantha for interviewing me on her blog. Please check out/follow her blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Merry Christmas to you all, too! Amaya911, you sound like a wonderful mother. I enjoyed your interview.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Amaya, I am sure your son will turn out to be fine young man! Merry Christmas🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | Life of an El Paso Woman

Leave a Reply

