My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Feel The Magic Of Storytelling


Have you ever enjoyed stories at your younger ages? What was the story last shared with your children? Do your kids enjoy bedtime stories?


Read to Feel The Magic Of Storytelling

Once upon a time there lived a Majestic Tiger in a dense Jungle. On a thunderous rainy day, all the animals gathered before the Lion for an emergency meeting. Roar ……. Roar…. The Lion was telling something seriously. Mew …. Mew …. The rabbit trembled. The jungle was filled with mixed emotions and sounds.

I was narrating the story Rainy Day in a Jungle to my son Mithu and his friends. Around 10 friends were gathered in our hall for this Story Session. All were eagerly listening to the story. This happens many a times in our home. Myself and Mithu enjoy stories very much. We share stories of all kind – funny, serious, moral, grandma, Folk, comedy, thriller and so on. I love being a Story Teller.

While telling the story, Mithu acted as Elephant, Kishore acted as Lion and Hari acted as rabbit. They really mimicked the animals very naturally. Dance, drawing of the story, singing song followed the post story session. Of course, we all enjoyed sweets and karam too.

This post I would like to emphasize the importance of Story Telling. I love this topic which is more close to my heart.

Reasons for lack of Story Telling

Teachers and parents are not able to tell stories in this modern world due to some difficulties as :

  • Limited time to complete the syllabus.
  • High stress in working environment.
  • Lack of time.
  • Less priority.
  • Lack of knowing stories.
  • Lack of interest.
  • High homework stress to kids.
  • Lack of reading.
  • High dominance of technology.
  • Effect of Micro Families.

The magic of Story Telling

You can select any convenient time for you and kids to tell stories. Mostly I prefer night time to shareBedtime Stories.


Continue reading my original post The Art of Storytelling  @ Smart Indian Women

Don’t fail to read 45 Ways to Spend Quality Time With Your Kids

Read and excute Parenting Tips @ Daily Tips

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

8 thoughts on “Feel The Magic Of Storytelling

  1. Imagination is more important than the knowledge. Telling story to the children has no alternative to develop the power of imagination. This is very important part of parenting and teaching as well. Everybody should know that. This is very helpful post for every parents and teachers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love telling stories as much as my children and grandchildren love hearing them. Since most times I need spectacles to read ( and I don’t wear them all the time) I make up stories from the pictures which are quite different from the actual ones so when my daughter reads them out to her son he tells her to tell the story the way I do and she is completely stumped!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha …. Ha ….. Ha ….. This happened with me while I was working. My mom will tell stories like you and I will struggle to reiterate the story like your daughter …..😦😛


  3. Some of my most wonderful childhood memories involve lying in bed with my mother sitting by my side, and us telling stories to each other. It was a time of special closeness for both of us, I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh those bedtime stories by Mom! Missing all that! My favorite was Rapunzel, she used to narrate so beautifully which always made me think I am the princess.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

