My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Bring Happiness Into Kids World



5 year old kid : (Crying) Waaaaaaaaah!
Grandpa : (Switches the TV on) Hey baby…look here! Watch this!

10 year old boy : Amma, What is a Solar Eclipse?
Amma : Don’t disturb me…Go and play with your Tab!
Appa : Where is my mobile? Hey look at this good morning message in my WhatsApp group…

*half an hour later*

Amma : Why such low marks? Get your report card signed by your dad…
10 year old boy : Many have scored less than me, Ma…
Dad : Hey, get me the newspaper…
10 year old boy : Wow…Chapter close…
Dad : Hey…I’m asking you only…
10 year old boy : Wait Appa…Very serious moment in my video game…

Are you wondering where this happened? What is the meaning of this scene?
This is a normal morning scene in many of the houses today. Most of the kids in the age group 7 to 11 are being fully occupied by electronic gadgets and wandering in their own virtual world. This is so scary. They lack physical activities and as a result face many developmental and physical issues, like obesity.

Negative impact of  the virtual world:

  • Kids get violent and vulnerable.
  • Lack in facing and solving the problems of life.
  • Not being able to recover from failure.
  • Develops negative thinking.
  • Attention deficient and getting stressed.
  • Poor performance.
  • Engage themselves in blame game.
  • Lack of competence.
  • Disrespecting older people.
  • Lack of reading.

Tips for saving your kids from virtual world:

1. Daily 40 minutes

Based on the age of your kids, make them spend 40 minutes doing some activity they are interested in. Be with them. Help them. Teach them that being really happy is more important than the achievements in video games or virtual contests. Encourage them to play with their friends. My son reads the newspaper in the morning for 15 minutes every day and attends cricket coaching classes for 1 hour in the evening. I strongly believe personal excellence is as important as academic excellence.


Happy Playtime Of M With Friends


Continue reading my original post Save Your Kids From Virtual World @ Parentous

You can explore more about Parenting and you can stay cool ….😛


What are your plans for your kids holidays?? Do you have Limited Screen Time for your kids??? Come …… Join with us to have happy, memorable and peaceful holidays ….❤❤❤

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

18 thoughts on “Bring Happiness Into Kids World

  1. A good thought Vasantha!
    My kids do have screen time but we get them Out in the garden too.. or just playing! They go for dhol lessons once a week. My son plays football 3 times a week my daughter attends a hockey club… we need to allow a good balance!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well said, Vasantha. I often see children playing with their gadgets even in the parks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tend to send mine out to play some sports or games. Lesser time at home = lesser screen time

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Completely agree with you Vasantha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on Nappy Tales and Me and commented:
    Keep your child grounded in reality and not lost in the virtual world

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I totally support your views…. Kids should not spend too much time with devices and screens.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Interesting read !🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a thought-provoking post, Vasantha… These are real life scenarios and i guess it plays out likewise in every household these days! I love the approach you have taken to this end this menace..I’m in your club too and believe in these very things! paying attention to our kids is the least we can do! Denying that is so cruel.

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

