My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Untold Story Of My Brother #BarAThon Challenge Day #1


Do you Vinod ? Have I shared with you, the stories about Vinod ?? If not, here’s one such story that tells how much I loved my brother Vinod.


One fine evening, there was a strong argument between my friends that whose love to their brother is the best. I said my love to my brother Vinod is more stronger than anyone else. Suddenly my friend, Jeyanthi told me to prove. Then I started telling the untold story of my brother to them.

The untold story continues ….

One day when  returned from hostel, Vinod had a bandage in his right leg. I asked what happened. He told that our pet dog has bitten him and had a minor surgery. He was narrating very lively about that incident and was explaining about his blood loss. On just hearing all his sufferings, I could not control myself and fell down fainted. And I said that much I love my brother. I got hurt even on hearing his difficulty. At last Jeyanthi and others accepted that my love towards my brother was the strongest.


P.S : Some days later ….. conversation between Jeyanthi and my parents …..

Jeyanthi : Uncle, how’s Vinod ?

Father : Who’s Vinod ?

Jeyanthi : Your son, uncle.

Mother : In fact the only unfulfilled wish of your friend is that she’s a single child.

Jeyanthi : **** slowly understanding ****

Do you believe that some love is Stranger than fiction.


Submitting this post for #BarAThon hosted by Blog-A-Rhythm. Today, Day #1 prompt is Stranger than fiction. I’m a part of team Blue Lagoon. Enjoy the other posts or happily participate here.

Linking this post to #MondayMusings hosted by Corinne.

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

32 thoughts on “Untold Story Of My Brother #BarAThon Challenge Day #1

  1. It took me some time to understand too…you got me there!

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh! That’s a spooky tale, Vasantha!! Is this a true story?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome Back with a bang Vasantha. Great read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh the twist at the end is brilliant … Loved it… Schizophrenia, is it?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That was spooky!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love is indeed stranger than fiction, Sibling love is so special.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Man!!! That was scary!! Was it his alter-ego? Is this a true story?


    Liked by 1 person

  8. The sadness of a single child. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Woah!! The twist was so unexpected in the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I can relate to this very well Akka..

    Liked by 1 person

  11. From the comments above, people are divided between whether it is a ghost story or a case of loneliness manifesting itself… I am in the latter category. A lovely poignant tale.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Well that was kind of spooky! But I guess it is not that uncommon. Nice take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Did you really said that to Jeyanti ? I understand how it is to be a single child. By the way, you are back to blogging after some break Vasantha?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It took me time to understand the story. First I thought it was schizophrenia and then I read Roshan’s comment and I understand the underlying reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Hey, It’s Ok Amma !!! #BarAThon Challenge Day #4 | My Sweet Nothings

  16. Pingback: Nostalgic Notes From A Mommy Diary #BarAThon Challenge Day #5 | My Sweet Nothings

  17. Pingback: Not Just A Wishful Thinking #BarAThon Challenge Day #6 | My Sweet Nothings

  18. Pingback: Hearthful Of Promises #BarAThon Challenge Day #7 | My Sweet Nothings

Leave a Reply

