My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

This MOM’s Life




Blessed to meet many loving hearts through this virtual space. One such beautiful soul is Gayatri Aptekar, lovingly called as Gayu. I met her in a social media through her depression survival story. Feeling very excited and proud to have her for “This Mom’s Life”. Thanks Gayu for kindly accepting my invitation. She’s a passionate blogger, inspiring to the core and make the readers motivated and geared up.Her choice of words and the clarity with which she writes are inimitable. Whenever I read her posts, I feel positive vibes within me ….. a feeling beyond words. All her posts are precise yet powerful, thought-provoking and especially very soothing.
Gayatri is a Professional Storyteller, Mental Health Advocate,  Writer, Blogger and Parenting Coach. Above all she’s a mother to  nine year old daughter, Samu. She believes in the power of Dreams. She quit her nine year corporate career to follow her passion. A Master Practitioner of NLP, she works with children to accelerate their learning, getting them into peak performance states and coaching them to deal with the everyday challenges. When she is not counseling students, individuals or couples, she can be found at her blog, “Outside the Kitchen Window” wielding her magical wand to pen her thoughts, poems, fictitious stories, mouth-tingling recipes and book reviews. Apart from these creative adventures, she enjoys reading, dancing, cooking and photography. She also love to explore the human mind, talk to people, read, be with nature, dance, sing and tell stories 🙂 This multifaceted celebrity shares her parenting thoughts with our readers here ……
1.       What three words describe you as a mother?
                     Funny, Playful and Loving
2.       What’s the parenting rule you never break?
                     I believe parenting comes with no rules. If you get the desired results, it works for you and your child.
3.       And one rule you do break?
                    When there are no rules…how can I break :) We’re a team and we make our own rules!
4.       How do you spend time off for yourself?
                    I dance, listen to music, read and sometimes, I prefer silence….so I sleep🙂
5.       What’s the best part of your day?
                   There’s no one best part, but many- When I wake up my daughter and she hugs me, when I drop her to the bus stand and she waves me bye, when I pick her up and she says, “I missed you mumma”, when I tell her a story at night and dozes off in my arms.
6.       What’s your favourite guilty pleasure?
                   My online presence🙂 Spending time on Facebook🙂
7.       What five things can always be found in your refrigerator?
                   Butter, Tomatoes, Vegetables, Pav Bhaji Masala and Ginger
8.       What words describe you as a wife and a mom?
                   Wife: I don’t know exactly, but I guess my strength as a wife is in respecting my partner and giving the space to grow as an individual.
                   Mom: I’m a learner and I continue to become a better person every single day
9.       Do you have a family ritual that you love?
                   Morning Walks on weekends. I treasure this time when Hubby, me and Samu go for long walks. Such a pleasure to connect with nature and my family.
10.   What are 3 best things you love to teach your child?
                  Resilience, Respecting others and having fun in whatever activity you choose. 
Thanks again Gayu for your great lifetime sharing with us …🙂

You can reach her @ 

Twitter: Gayatri Aptekar
Her Parenting Page: A Better Parent

Image Courtesy :

Happy to feature other mommy friends also …… Interested can mail me :

Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

22 thoughts on “This MOM’s Life

  1. Vasantha thank you so much for featuring me on your blog. And thanks for such kind words🙂 feeling blessed!
    Happy writing and hope your readers enjoy this little chat with me🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gayu is always an inspiration and her words work like magic. She has this effect and play an important part in my life when I was losing hope and going through the rough patch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Her story is so inspiring and powerful… a hope to so many who suffer from depression. I read it through Facebook where it was shared a lot. Its nice to know more about Gayatri.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gayathri Aptekars story is surely an inspiration. I have seen her videos on Youtube, and absolutely loved her. Thanks Vasantha, for giving this beatutiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Resilience, respect and fun – how essential these three qualities are not just for kids but for all of us….!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really need to remind me to come and read your posts more often. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Parenting without rules is a fabulous idea. I came to know Gayatri through her story about how she overcame depression which was shared on facebook and today I follow her Facebook page ‘A better parent’ for the wisdom she has to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Gratitude Is Peace ….. #GratitudeCircleBlogHop #MyFriendAlexa | My Sweet Nothings

Leave a Reply

