My Sweet Nothings

All that linger in my mind …

Work Is Her Prayer – #WomenAtWork


Good should make noise.

Good should be sensationalized.

Be a good finder and speak about it.

-Mahatria Ra

Really these words look opt for my dear friend Parul for being a good finder. She blogs at Happiness And Food. She has a monthly feature –  #WomenAtWork – in honour and respect of many working women. I feel very proud to join with her as a good finder by this post. This is my very first post of #WomenAtwork series and am sure you can expect more inspirational stories.

Meet Srimathy. Thamburatti Ammal – Our Cook


Work Is Her Prayer; Smile Is Her Offering;

Thamburatti Ammal joined our house as a cook during 2010 when I was working and I needed a full-time maid to look after my MIL. She was then around 65 years. I was having lot of painful stories with my maids. So I was not sure how long this Thambu Amma is going to be with us. But still now she’s with us. And I can say she’s not our maid but my ma. I call her as Amma only. Now she is my mentor, supporter, encourager, philosopher and more next to my real Amma. She’s the loving Paati for my naughty son Mithu. I used to discuss with her about my prayers, students, yoga, my dreams, my worries and at times my blogging too. My son loves to watch cricket and football matches with her.


During Mithu’s Birthday

She is very sincere in her work. She loves our family as her’s. She is such a responsible and most trusted woman. Glad that God had sent her to our family. She is a proud mother of 4 daughters. Her man was a Utensil Seller. He used to get only little out of it. Thambu amma went for cooking and to make Murrukku. By those hardly earned money, they managed to make a decent and well-behaved families for their daughters. She decided to work full-time cook when her man died during 2010. She does not wanted to stay at her daughters’ houses since she has the policy to work until  she is able to do so. Such an empowering and energizing women. Really blessed to have her at our family.


Happy Memories

This is post #1 linked with #WomenAtWork, a regular photo feature on Parul’s blog. If you are interested in participating, please read her inaugural post and join by adding your linky to her post. I would love to see your take on the tag. 

How to join with us?

  • You can only join with a blog post.
  • It would be great to see a picture of a woman at work and a few words about her. If you cannot share a picture, you can share a picture of her workspace. 
  • Use the linky to add your post. 
  • Visit others and show some love.


Author: Vasantha Vivek

I am Vasantha Vivek. A happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover …….I enjoy reading and writing very much … I start & end my days with reading … Now I started writing also … so come …My Sweet Nothings …

18 thoughts on “Work Is Her Prayer – #WomenAtWork

  1. I love Amma’s smile and her spirit to be independent for as long as possible. How many 65-year-olds can be so strong and perseverant? Your post is a lovely tribute to her and brings out the love she has for your family.
    Thank you for joining me this month, Vasantha. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing it with us🙂 I am moved to read it🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So Sweet of you to write about her..we sometimes forget to salute these unsung heroes in our life. More power to u and yur blog🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is really important to value work, and this feature values both the woman and her work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. She is so strong and independent. Love her spirit🙂 Thank you for sharing her story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. very interesting to know about Amma! God be with her…
    Menaka Bharathi has recently published

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Vasantha you are blessed to have such a loving Amma! It is not many who can get such a reliable help who is practically like family. Loved this feature dedicated to such an endearing and loyal person.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. It was really wonderful of you to feature Amma and talk about her. The fact this was your first post in the series and you wrote about her shows how she is important to you and how lovely a person you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Amma looks like a wonderful person. You are indeed lucky to have her in your life🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

